About us

Executive and stewards

EXECUTIVES

President: Terry Groves
647-542-8186
president@cupe1483.org

Vice-President: Jason Iacchetta
416-606-0943
vice.president@cupe1483.org

Recording Secretary: Grace Vincente
416-523-5384
secretary@cupe1483.org

Secretary Treasurer: Honorato Buenafe
416-433-1255
treasurer@cupe1483.org

Chief Steward: Cephas Kotei
416-433-4322
chief.steward@cupe1483.org

Maintenance Officer: David Bozzo
416-616-5508
maintenance@cupe1483.org

Education Officer: Nihal Bahadir
416-606-1279
education@cupe1483.org

Member At Large: Rosemary Madore
416-433-4339
member@cupe1483.org

Membership Officer: Daniel Chmurowski
416-606-1275
membership@cupe1483.org

OTHER OFFICERS

Health & Safety Officer: Reg Fonceca
416-606-3899
health.safety@cupe1483.org

WSIB Officer: Orlando Ismael
416-606-1158
wsib@cupe1483.org

STEWARDS

Marty McVey
416-606-0942
marty@cupe1483.org 

Adriano De Luliis
905-399-3549
adriano@cupe1483.org

Waldo Paquete
437-999-3729
waldo@cupe1483.org

Debbie Clarke
416-606-0861
debbie@cupe1483.org

Pasquale De Nardo
416-606-0931
pasquale@cupe1483.org

TRUSTEES

3 years: Marven Cabusas
marven@cupe1483.org

2 years: Amado Lim
amado@cupe1483.org

1 year: Roberto Mauricio
roberto@cupe1483.org

 

Committees

By-laws Committee

The by-laws committee:

  1. Reviews the by-laws annually and make recommendations to the
    Executive Board on proposed amendments.
  2. Reviews any proposed amendments received from the Executive Board
    or membership of the Local Union to ensure that the amendment will
    conform to the remainder of the by-laws and the CUPE National
    Constitution.
    Ensures that the Local Union’s by-laws are written in clear language,
    ensuring that clear language does not change the intent or meaning of
    the by-laws.

Committee Members:

Terry Groves

Jason Iacchetta (Ex-Officio)

Julie Mendoca Fields

David Bozzo

Cephas Kotei

Edwin Godinez

Grievance Committee

Committee Members:

Cephas Kotei

Marty McVey

Adriano De Luliis

 

Women's Committee

Committee members:

Nihal Bahadir

Julie Mendoca-Field

Debbie Clarke

Mobilization Committee

Committee members:

Rose Madore

Adriano De Luliis

John Agathos

Tito Alipio

Julie Mendoca-Field

Health and Safety Committee

Committee members:

Reg Fonceca (Chair)

Orlando Ismael

Cephas Kotei

Nihal Bahadir

Edwin Godinez

Julie Mendoca-Field

Uniform Committee

Committee members:

Amado Lim

Debbie Clarke

Cephas Kotei

Nihal Bahadir

Adriano De Luliis

Social Committee

Committee members:

Percy Plumber

Julie Mendoca-Field

Elden Buenafe

Nihal Bahadir

Tito Alipio

Communication Committee

Committee members:

Grace Vicente

Debbie Clarke

Keaton Support Services Committee

Committee members:  To be Announced later

 

What we do

Members of Cupe Local 1483 are employees of the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board, and we provide Maintenance, Cleaning and custodial services in the Catholic schools and facilities located in the Peel Region and Dufferin County. Our work locations span across the Cities of Brampton, Caledon, Mississauga and Orangeville. There are 2 main work groups representative of our bargaining unit:

  1. Custodial
  2. Maintenance

Custodial Consist of:

  1. Cleaners (Part-time permanent or contract)
  2. Custodians (Full-time permanent or contract)

Maintenance consist of:  Trades Personnel:

  1. Air Conditioning Mechanic
  2. Plumber
  3. Electrician
  4. Environmental Controls Technician
  5. Heating Control Technician
  6. Carpenter
  7. Painter
  8. Glazier
  9. Welder
  10. Construction Carpenter
  11. Locksmith
  12. Maintenance "A" & "B"
  13. Audio Visual Technologist

 

 

 

Equality statement

Union solidarity is based on the principle that union members are equal and deserve mutual respect at all levels. Any behaviour that creates conflict prevents us from working together to strengthen our union.

As unionists, mutual respect, cooperation and understanding are our goals. We should neither condone nor tolerate behaviour that undermines the dignity or self-esteem of any individual or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive environment.

Discriminatory speech or conduct which is racist, sexist, transphobic or homophobic hurts and thereby divides us. So too, does discrimination on the basis of ability, age, class, religion, language and ethnic origin.

Sometimes discrimination takes the form of harassment. Harassment means using real or perceived power to abuse, devalue or humiliate. Harassment should not be treated as a joke. The uneasiness and resentment that it creates are not feelings that help us grow as a union.

Discrimination and harassment focus on characteristics that make us different; and they reduce our capacity to work together on shared concerns such as decent wages, safe working conditions, and justice in the workplace, society and in our union.

CUPE’s policies and practices must reflect our commitment to equality. Members, staff and elected officers must be mindful that all persons deserve dignity, equality and respect.